141 Receive Padma Awards 2020  

  • 25-Jan-2020
  • Comments

New Delhi: Former union ministers George Fernandes, Arun Jaitley, and Sushma Swaraj have been honoured with the prestigious Padma Vibhushan posthumously on the Republic Day this year. Olympian boxer Mary Kom, former Mauritius prime minister Anerood Gugnath, and Hindustani classical singer Chhannulal Mishra are also on the list of Padma Vibhushan.

President Ram Nath Kovind has approved the conferment of 141 Padma awards. The list comprises seven Padma Vibhushan, 16 Padma Bhushan and 118 Padma Shri awards. These awards are conferred by the President at ceremonial functions which are held at Rashtrapati Bhawan usually around March/April every year.

Prominent names among the awardees include sportsperson P V Sindhu, Architect Balkrishna Doshi, Businessman Anand Mahindra, former Goa chief minister Manohar Parrikar (posthumously), directors Karan Johar and Ekta Kapoor, actor Kangana Ranaut, singer Adnan Sami and mathematician Vashishtha Narayan Singh (posthumously) and singer Suresh Wadkar.

Some unsung heroes who found a place in the Padma awardees list this year include social workers like Jagdish Lal Ahuja, who serves free food to patients and attendants outside PGI hospital in Chandigarh and Mohammed Sharif from Faizabad, who has performed last rites of over 25,000 unclaimed bodies, and elephant doctor from Assam Kushal Konwar Sarma.

Javed Ahmad Tak, a specially-abled social worker from Jammu and Kashmir working for specially abled children for over two decades, providing free education, material aid and motivation to over 100 children of 40 villages in Anantnag and Pulwama will also be awarded. Seventy-two-year-old Tulasi Gowda from Karnataka, who earned the sobriquet “encyclopedia of forests” because of her vast knowledge of diverse plants species in spite of lacking formal education, has also been given the award.

Padma Vibhushan (7)

1. George Fernandes (Posthumous) Public Affairs Bihar
2. Arun Jaitley (Posthumous) Public Affairs Delhi
3. Anerood Jugnauth GCSK Public Affairs Mauritius
4. M. C. Mary Kom Sports Manipur
5. Chhannulal Mishra Art Uttar Pradesh
6. Sushma Swaraj (Posthumous) Public Affairs Delhi
7. Vishveshateertha Swamiji (Posthumous) Others-Spiritualism Karnataka

Padma Bhushan (16)

8. M. Mumtaz Ali (Sri M) Others-Spiritualism Kerala
9. Syed Muazzem Ali (Posthumous) Public Affairs Bangladesh
10. Muzaffar Hussain Baig Public Affairs JK
11. Ajoy Chakravorty Art West Bengal
12. Manoj Das Literature & Education Puducherry
13. Balkrishna Doshi Others-Architecture Gujarat
14. Krishnammal Jagannathan Social Work Tamil Nadu
15. S. C. Jamir Public Affairs Nagaland
16. Anil Prakash Joshi Social Work Uttarakhand
17. Tsering Landol Medicine Ladakh
18. Anand Mahindra Trade and Industry Maharashtra
19. N R Madhava Menon (Posthumous) Public Affairs Kerala
20. Manohar Parrikar (Posthumous) Public Affairs Goa
21. Jagdish Sheth Literature and Education USA
22. P. V. Sindhu Sports Telangana
23. Venu Srinivasan Trade and Industry Tamil Nadu